Paper comparing bus & rail transit in LA

Graduation is a month away and at that point I’m basically planning to overhaul my entire website and post a lot of the work I’ve done in graduate school. But in the meantime! A paper I wrote last year won 2nd place in the APA Transportation Planning Division’s Student Paper Competition. (A mouthful, I know.) APA is the main professional organization for urban planners, and they hold this competition¬†every year. I submitted my paper on a whim and didn’t think much would come of it, so I was really pleasantly shocked to find out it did so well!

Link is here.

If you’re interested in how different modes of transit perform relative to one another, and in particular if you wonder whether sometimes it’s not the best idea to build that shiny new light-rail line, you might find this of interest.

Leave a Reply

